Skip to product information
1 of 1

Solar Press

This Mortal Coil by Cynthia Asquith

This Mortal Coil by Cynthia Asquith

Regular price £12.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £12.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Nine literary tales of the eerie, weird, and macabre.

Lonely ghosts who simply want to make friends; ethereal poetry with a strange hypnotic effect; a woman driven mad by her unearthly stalker... 

Originally published by Arkham House in 1947, in a run of 2500 copies, This Mortal Coil is a cult-classic of weird fiction.

Blending delicate, pretty prose with a shameless pulp sensibility, the nine stories that make up This Mortal Coil are by turns striking, resonant, dreamlike and disturbing.

Only ever reprinted under the title 'What Dreams May Come'—with heavily edited and revised versions of the original stories—the original Arkham House edition has long been regarded by enthusiasts as a lost classic of weird fiction.

Solar Press are proud to present this definitive new edition, based the original 1947 manuscript and restored from the ground up to fix errors present in the original Arkham House release.

  • In a Nutshell
  • The White Moth
  • The Corner Shop
  • ''God Grante That She Lye Stille''
  • The Playfellow
  • The Nurse Never Told
  • The Lovely Voice
  • The First Night
  • The Follower
View full details